Illinois Sustainability Awards

January 2019— We are re-envisioning how we recognize sustainability leaders in our state and therefore we will not be proceeding with the traditional Illinois Sustainability Award application process at this time. We are committed in our role as an advocate for the environment and economy of Illinois, and will continue our 30+ year history of working with stakeholders, including business, industry and communities on sustainability issues. We will keep you informed as this new plan takes shape. If you are interested in our direct assistance programs and services please contact us through our website.

If you have questions or comments about the Illinois Sustainability Award program, please email


Since 1987, the Illinois Sustainability Award has recognized private and public Illinois organizations who have implemented outstanding and innovative sustainable techniques or technologies, demonstrating a commitment to sustaining our environmental, social and economic health.

Sustainability Award winners are an elite group of committed leaders reducing environmental impact, contributing to the growth of a more sustainable Illinois economy. By prioritizing sustainability throughout their operations, programs, technology, products and company culture, they serve as a model within their industry and community.

Each year, the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center honors Illinois Sustainability Award winners at an Awards Ceremony in the fall. Organizations that attend the Award Ceremony have an opportunity to interface and network directly with leading sustainable organizations, speakers and keynotes and learn more about how organizations throughout Illinois are implementing sustainability.

The Illinois Sustainability Award is the longest running environmental award program in the state, and in the country. Previous awardees include:

  • Abbott Labs
  • Baxter Healthcare
  • United Airlines
  • Farmland Foods
  • Lewis and Clark Community College
  • Marathon Petroleum Company LP
  • McDonald’s Corporation
  • Quaker Foods North America
  • University of Illinois
  • DuPage County
  • Motorola, Inc.
  • ... and many more!


The Awards Ceremony

The 2018 Sustainability Awards were presented on Tuesday, October 23 at the Union League Club of Chicago. We congratulate the Award winners on their achievements!

To learn more about this year’s award winners, visit our Previous Ceremonies and Winners page - find photos, this year’s program, presentations, and more!

Support the Awards

Thank you to our 2018 Awards ceremony sponsors! 

Sustainability Awards Case Studies

Questions? Contact:

Deb Jacobson
(Primary Contact)

Irene Zlevor